Home > Uncategorized > Today!!!

Today!!!

http://www.msplinks.com/MDFodHRwOi8vd3d3LnlvdXR1YmUuY29tL3dhdGNoP3Y9ZDE2bHp5cHdaaGM=Note: only the first 45 seconds of the video are relevant to the blog, I just don’t know how to get it to play only that part.

So I can’t believe that I’m posting a video or writing about this guy at all but I stumbled upon this video last night and the words were just haunting. I’m not sure if that is “the bears” voice or if it is an actor from a movie or documentary about him (I suspect the later), but it is the words of a poem ‘the bear’ was said to have with him the day he died and supposedly read often throughout his life. I hate to get all mushy, but I find the words to be VERY powerful! And the voice narrating it went perfect with the passage. When I heard it, I got emotional. It has been quite some time since I have been affected so profoundly by sure a short verse. It’s especially surprising since they come from some one who in theory I should hate.

It’s like an American ‘carpe diem’. There was this German army officer (technically Prussian at the time) who came and helped train the American soldiers early in the revolutionary war. His training is credited, in part, with allowing the Americans to fight well enough to survive the early and middle part of the war. He found that Americans could be good soldiers, but they were different. European soldiers would just do what they were told unquestioningly. He learn that with Americans you always had to explain why you should do it that way, but once you did they would do it with great vest. So Carpe Diem….why you say….this is why….

This is the beginning of a new day.
God has given me this day to use as I will.
I can waste it or use it for good.
What I do today is very important because I am Exchanging a day of my life for it.
When tomorrow comes, this day will be gone forever.
Leaving something in its place I have traded for it.
I want it to be a gain, not loss – good, not evil.
Success, not failure in order that I shall not forget the price I paid for it.

Note: only the first 45 seconds of the video are relevant to the blog, I just don’t know how to get it to play only that part.

So I can’t believe that I’m posting a video or writing about this guy at all but I stumbled upon this video last night and the words were just haunting. I’m not sure if that is “the bears” voice or if it is an actor from a movie or documentary about him (I suspect the later), but it is the words of a poem ‘the bear’ was said to have with him the day he died and supposedly read often throughout his life. I hate to get all mushy, but I find the words to be VERY powerful! And the voice narrating it went perfect with the passage. When I heard it, I got emotional. It has been quite some time since I have been affected so profoundly by sure a short verse. It’s especially surprising since they come from some one who in theory I should hate.

It’s like an American ‘carpe diem’. There was this German army officer (technically Prussian at the time) who came and helped train the American soldiers early in the revolutionary war. His training is credited, in part, with allowing the Americans to fight well enough to survive the early and middle part of the war. He found that Americans could be good soldiers, but they were different. European soldiers would just do what they were told unquestioningly. He learn that with Americans you always had to explain why you should do it that way, but once you did they would do it with great vest. So Carpe Diem….why you say….this is why….

This is the beginning of a new day.
God has given me this day to use as I will.
I can waste it or use it for good.
What I do today is very important because I am Exchanging a day of my life for it.
When tomorrow comes, this day will be gone forever.
Leaving something in its place I have traded for it.
I want it to be a gain, not loss – good, not evil.
Success, not failure in order that I shall not forget the price I paid for it.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

